Home > Careers, Employment, Enterprise > What I wish I knew before: Life as a graduate

What I wish I knew before: Life as a graduate

Does the white noise during university mean you miss out on the important stuff and only notice it when it feels too late? UH graduate Maria Currant, who now works for the university’s graduate employment scheme in the Careers, Employment and Enterprise Service talks about this, how she felt at graduation and how she found her graduate job.

 gdgg

3 months ago I had just graduated from the University of Hertfordshire and been handed my degree whilst wearing the black gown and the funny hat and I said to my friend, “Now what?”  Seriously, I had just been dropped into the big wide world of work and it was like “Hey you graduated, you’re meant to have your life sorted by now!”

 

After studying a degree in education studies I had decided within second year that being a teacher just wasn’t for me. I searched online numerous times wondering what else can I do with this degree of mine.  I was lucky enough to have a programme tutor who regularly updated us with vacancies that relate to my degree and that is where my journey began.

I was scrolling through Facebook when an email from said tutor popped up in my inbox titled GRADUATE EMPLOYMENT! – Graduate scheme specifically for University of Hertfordshire Graduates within the Careers, Employment and Enterprise team. I didn’t even know the university offered a graduate employment scheme just for UH graduates. In fact they run this scheme throughout the University not just this department. Something tugged at me to click the link even though after numerous times of seeing a job I liked, clicking the link and deciding that I wasn’t qualified for the job, I took a leap of faith and clicked.  I read the job spec and was so excited but dreaded scrolling down to the person specification, I scrolled down and was surprised when I felt as though I met the criteria.

Without anyone knowing I secretly applied for the position and was called for an interview! I was so happy and scared at the same time. I had never even stepped foot into a formal interview apart from the casual interviews I had for previous cleaning jobs whilst studying. I started to freak out wishing that I knew then where I could go to for some advice. The day of the interview I was met with friendly faces and very happy people. After the interview I went off on my holiday that day and by 7pm that night I had a phone call offering me the job.  What a way to make the start of the holiday even more special. My first day was so nerve wracking but I was so excited. Everyone was so friendly and made me feel right at home from the off.

The main reason I am writing this blog is because I now am 3 months in to my job and absolutely love it but I have learnt that the Careers, Employment and Enterprise team do so much more for students then students know about (although it’s always advertised, which points to student blindness/I’ll put it off until next week syndrome).

Did you know that they do mock interviews? Daily CV reviews? Help with finding a placement? Workshops? Employer events?  Fairs? Advice on what your degree can offer you, and so very much more, the best part is it’s all free, including the workshops. As well as that, being able to access the service two years after you graduate means they can help you even after you leave. I never thought I would be sat here on the other side of the screen screaming at it to tell you all to just make use of these services. Even if it is just for a CV check before you apply for that job, because right now I can see the hard work and dedication the team put in to helping you guys and honestly it really can make the difference between you getting the job to you not getting the job.

I wish as a student I had made better use of the services whilst I was at university and that I hadn’t had the student blindness syndrome, as I wouldn’t have had that feeling when I was wearing the funny hat and holding my degree that I didn’t know what I was going to do next.

 

 

Leave a Reply

