Home > Uncategorized > My life as a placement student: a fond farewell!

My life as a placement student: a fond farewell!

So today is the final day of my placement and I honestly cannot quite believe how quickly this past year has gone. It seems like yesterday that I was first walking into the Careers, Employment and Enterprise office feeling overwhelmed with information, surroundings and people.

I have learnt so much from this placement – and not only that, but it has brought with it so many different opportunities, including starting up this blog series. On starting my placement, I expressed an interest in writing and communication. As a result, my manager made this blog series possible. This has not only enabled me to gain valuable experience of writing externally, on behalf of a professional organisation, it has also given me a strong sense of achievement and satisfaction; being able to share my personal experiences of undertaking a placement year.

My placement year has provided me with such a vast skill set, as well as given me the opportunity to get involved in a variety of different events and tasks. From administration and sector knowledge, to communication and creative writing – I have so many different skills to take away with me. Aside from this, the variety of people I have met and gained friendships with, has been unbelievable. I cannot express enough how dedicated and lovely each and every member of the Careers, Employment and Enterprise team are.Goodbye scrabble

Not only have they supported me throughout this last year; I have seen on a daily basis just how much of their time and thought goes into helping UH students and graduates with their career prospects and self-employment aspirations. I know that I will be taking full advantage of any and all services available to me as I return for my final year of study.

As I leave, I take great pleasure in introducing Dani, our new Enterprise Assistant who joined the team in July. Dani has spent the last year studying at Western Sydney University, and will be taking over this blog series as part of her new placement role – so keep your eyes peeled for her first post! I have every confidence that she will not only excel in her role, but will thoroughly enjoy herself along the way.

That’s all from me. Thank you to anyone that has taken the time to read this blog, but most of all a massive thank you to everyone at Careers, Employment and Enterprise for having me in the team!

By Eleanor Spall, Enterprise Assistant.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

