Home > Careers, Employment > A graduate Q&A with Deloitte’s Hammad Riaz

A graduate Q&A with Deloitte’s Hammad Riaz

Hammad Riaz-2

My name is Hammad Riaz and I had the opportunity to spend three memorable years at the University of Hertfordshire from 2010-2013. I completed the BEng (Hons) Aerospace Engineering programme, with a thesis on Aerodynamics.

How did the University prepare you for working life at Deloitte?

I feel my time at University both moulded and primed me for working life. While at University you get the first real taste of responsibility. Moreover you develop the ability to manage your tasks, deadlines and goals effectively. Personally, University geared me towards consistently developing myself, setting goals and achieving them. Lastly, the most important skill that University life teaches you is cultivating the capacity to meet new people, form friendships and develop your own personal network – something you do a lot at Deloitte.

Why did you join Deloitte?

I joined Deloitte because it is one of the biggest and most successful global firms around today. I knew it would provide a concrete start to my career, considering the calibre of people I would be working with. Joining Deloitte also meant I could dabble with a range of different industries – from technology, media, telecoms to energy, manufacturing & financial services. Moreover Deloitte is renowned for investing in employee development, which is something I prize immensely.

What do you enjoy about working for Deloitte?

At Deloitte I particularly enjoy the diversity of work and the independence involved with it. You are presented with responsibility from the get-go – along with consistent support and development to compliment it. I also relish the vast amount of exposure I collect at such an early stage of my career; dealing with high profile clients and complex projects.

What is a typical day for you?

A typical day for me involves getting to the office by 9am and spending 30 minutes planning my day. Following that I tend to respond to emails, follow up different tasks on different projects and updating the project manager. After this I would typically attend a conference call to catch up on progress from clients/colleagues in different cities and countries. In the afternoon I could be performing different tasks on client engagements, whether it is performance analytics on their data to provide insights into their operation/business or assisting in a legal review for a multi-million pound intellectual property dispute.  A non-typical day could also involve catching a flight out to Switzerland to assist an investment bank and returning the next day.

What advice would you give to student going into their final year in September?

The best piece of advice I could give final year students is to have intensive goals to develop your skills. This involves learning everyday tools such as Microsoft Office (never underestimate the power of Excel) and also improving your knowledge of the industry you’re aiming for. The most important part is to keep trying! Rejection will come, but the key is to be persistent. Another important element is timing. You need to apply as early as possible. I would also suggest using the University careers services to practise interviews and improve the look of your CV. Last but not least, get involved with as many extracurricular activities as possible – believe it or not it does stand you out for employment.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

