Home > Employment > Happy New Year and a New Introduction

Happy New Year and a New Introduction

FireworksHappy New Year to our readers! At the start of 2015 we would like to introduce one of our new student writers…

This is my first experience of writing a blog post, that in mind, I would like to introduce myself. My name is Ellie. I am 21 years old and I am currently completing a placement year within UH Careers, Employment and Enterprise Service as Enterprise Assistant. I have been given the opportunity to talk about my placement journey to date – here goes!

As a humanities student, I will admit I queried not only the placement vacancies available for me to apply to, but also the value of my skill set. If you had asked me a few months ago whether I could see myself doing the job role I am currently in, I would most likely have laughed. So many of the job roles I had been looking at simply shouted ‘BUSINESS STUDENT’ at me. Often I found myself doubting my ability based on my chosen degree of study – English and New Media Publishing can’t be relevant, can it? Therefore you can imagine my surprise when I was asked to attend an interview for the placement position.

After travelling two hours by train, carrying my interview clothes in one hand, my hand bag in the other and a rucksack on my back, I made it to Hertfordshire in one – albeit flustered – piece. After a quick change of clothes and last minute tidy, I arrived looking like what I can only imagine as a very smartly dressed scout. Having gone through the interview process and spoken passionately about the position being offered, I left feeling content at my efforts, yet not expectant of any particular outcome. As you can gather I was successful!

type photo

Having now been in my placement role for almost 3 months I have already been given so many opportunities to get involved in a variety of different tasks. Ranging from marketing and event planning to data analysis and administration; I feel incredibly lucky to be gaining experience across such a broad range of areas. Within the first two weeks of my placement I attended a film shoot for one of our flare finalist’s promotional films. Not only was it a beautiful location to film in, it was a chance to get to know some of the companies we work alongside and the process of film making. From the initial shoot, to seeing the final edit, this opportunity was invaluable as a New Media Publishing student.

Aside from the varied tasks this placement has thrown my way, I have benefited so much seeing the services that the CEE team provide. As part of my role, I interact daily with students and graduates who are seeking support in finding employment or placements, guidance in post graduate study and entrepreneurial advice, to name a few. It is refreshing to be a part of the team who strives to support students like myself. I am looking forward to what this upcoming year has to bring, and any curve-balls this placement may throw along the way!

To keep up to date with Ellie’s post and the other stories from our blog, sign up by clicking the ‘Follow blog by email’ box at the top right of the page

Ellie Spall Photo

Eleanor Spall is an Enterprise Assistant at the Careers, Employment and Enterprise Service, University of Hertfordshire

  1. 24/02/2015 at 14:21

    Reblogged this on eleanorspall and commented:
    This is the first instalment of a series blog post I have been writing as part of my placement role, working for Careers, Employment and Enterprise.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

