Home > Employment > Once in a lifetime…

Once in a lifetime…

Josie PhotoWorking and living in a different country has to be by far one of the best decisions of my life. I was lucky enough to experience a once in a lifetime journey where I was tested in a number of ways and situations. Going to China was very much like going to University – an unsettling experience where you don’t know the people, your surroundings, or how you’re going to react to the changes. Luckily, it challenged me in the best way and taught me valuable things I can relate to working, studying and living.

Working in China was difficult at first but extremely satisfying. I was able to test my current knowledge as well as immerse myself into a whole new culture. To be able to understand another culture and learn how different countries practice different business strategies was truly incredible. I put myself in a completely new situation with no previous knowledge and was able to quickly adapt and respect the culture. My only regret was that I didn’t had the chance to work longer in China – one month is not nearly enough to experience the true business culture.

China is by far one of the most beautiful countries I have ever had the privilege to visit. I have never seen so many different cultures all combined in one country – ancient, rural, cosmopolitan, etc. I had the opportunity to stay in a large bustling city one night and a tranquil mountain lodge the next. To think that China can differ from province to province and behold such different auras was amazing. I had the chance to converse with a variety of people with diverse backgrounds, life stories and wishes for the future. Talking with these people was by far my favourite part of my trip and gave me a small insight as to what it is like to live in China.

Group Photo

Deciding to go on this adventure was scary at first. Going to a foreign country alone where most people don’t speak English, where you have no idea what you’re doing or where you’re going can be daunting. However finding that courage to take the plunge is more rewarding than most adventures. I cannot recommend this experience enough – to go to another country and fully immerse yourself; to live there, work there, and to talk to the locals and try every traditional thing you can find – because testing yourself is the best way of learning yourself.

Josie was able to complete an internship in China with the help of the University of Hertfordshire’s Diamond Fund.

Find out more about the award and how Josie made a successful application

 

Photo Credit: Josie Sultan

Josie Sultan is a current student at the University of Hertfordshire.

Josie Sultan is a current student at the University of Hertfordshire.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

