Home > Employment > Take your Work Experience Global

Take your Work Experience Global

One of our student writers, Josie Sultan, looked at how to stand out in the current job market and came up with one solution to get on an employer’s radar…

Airplane

Does having a University degree guarantee you a job?

Almost 1 in 10 graduates are unemployed.

There are roughly 60 applications for every vacancy.

These are all the statements we’re now surrounded by despite our greatest efforts towards getting the best available qualifications for the highest paying jobs. With less jobs and more qualified students, we’re pressured even further to make ourselves stand out. To be the one CV that employers pull out of the stack of mountainous applications and say, ‘This is the one. This is the perfect candidate for the job.’

Experience

It’s all about competency and general employability skills. Can a degree convey that you can communicate with customers effectively and professionally? Show that you can lead a team under pressure with a fast approaching deadline? Prove that you can work well in a team and deal with difficult people? To an extent, yes it can, but who is an employee going to hire? Someone with real life work experience and a good degree, or someone with just a degree? I think we all know the answer to that. And that is why I decided to boost my CV with a tonne of work experience.

At first I started with the usual internships and then moved onto a placement year but again everyone has the same idea I have; to gain work experience. So, if everyone is getting a degree and attaining valid experience, how are you meant to be that excellent application with amazing experience and skills?

Flags

 

International

Companies love the word international. It’s all about being global in order to be truly successful. Employers respect travellers and those who study abroad because it shows they’re adventurous, brave and diverse. Not everyone can go to a different country alone and survive mentally, let alone strive. It was too late to do a study abroad during my studies, and I couldn’t just go travelling to make a point that I was culturally diverse. I needed a purpose, a reason to go abroad and actually benefit my CV.

That was when I found CRCC Asia, a recruitment agency for internships in China, through a handy website RateMyPlacement.  By doing this, I would be presenting myself as a University graduate, with not only work experience in the UK, but experience in China. And to top it off, I would be learning Mandarin whilst I’m completing my internship. I had transferred myself from the top 15% to the ‘Unique’ applicants.

Now all I had to do was figure out how to pay for the trip

 

Josie Sultan is a current student at the University of Hertfordshire.

Josie Sultan is a current student at the University of Hertfordshire.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

photo credit: Pieter v Marion via photopin cc

  1. 14/07/2014 at 14:55

    Really enjoying the posts Josie – eloquent and really helpful to other students – enjoy China – Judith

  1. 14/07/2014 at 14:49
  2. 20/10/2014 at 13:46

Leave a Reply

